A small chapel was established in 1864 by the priests of Milan Mission Seminary in Bonham Road (current site of King’s College) dedicating to St. Anthony as its patron saint.  In 1875, the chapel was then passed on and operated by De La Salle Brothers.  By 1921, the chapel was relocated to the technology workshop within St Louis School in the Third Street, and run by the Maryknoll Fathers.  The technology workshop was taken over by the newly arrived Salesian priests in 1927 with Fr. Galdinus Bardelli appointed as the clergy.  With the increase in population in the western district, the chapel soon became inadequate and the Salesians had made a decision to build a new church.

In post-war 1945, the parish priest Fr. Theodore Wieczorek had personally went to U.S.A. and secured a substantial overseas donation amounting to over $100,000.  With the full support and assistance of the whole congregation, construction went ahead smoothly.  The new church was commissioned on 1.6.1953 and officiated on the feast day of St. Anthony by Bishop Bianchi.

Since its opening in 1953, with the dedication of various priests, the church has been upgraded to provide additional facilities and undergone different stages of renovation to enhance its pasturing work.

In addition, the Our Lady Seat of Wisdom Chapel residing in Ricci Hall of University of Hong Kong has been established as the subsidiary of St Anthony Church.

Basic info
Address 69A Pokfulam Road, Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Telephone 2546-6221
Fax 2548-0661
Email [email protected]
Website URL http://www.anthonychurch.org
Architectual Design
Award
HK Historic Building Grading Grade 2 Historic Building (2009 )
Names of Chapels in Parish Our Lady Seat of Wisdom Chapel
 
Parish Priest Rev. LEONG Chi Choi Pedro, SDB
Assistant Parish Priest Rev. Wong Ka Fai Stephen SDB; Rev. Joseph Lau SDB (Confessor)
Deacon
Sunday Mass Cantonese: 7:00 a.m., 8:30 a.m., 10:00 a.m., 6:00 p.m.
English:11:30 a.m.
Anticipatory Mass Cantonese: Saturday 8:00 p.m.
Weekday Mass Cantonese: 7:10 a.m., 7:45 a.m., 6:00 p.m.
Mass in Honour of Sacred Heart of Jesus:First Friday of the Month 8:00 p.m. (no Mass at 6:00 p.m.)
Click to enlarge

1864年,米蘭會會士於般含道(即今英皇書院)建立一小堂,奉聖安多尼聖師為主保,1875年,小堂由基督學校修士接辦。1921年,小堂遷往第三街聖類斯工藝院內,由瑪利諾會管理。1927年,慈幼會士抵達香港,接辦工藝院,並委任馬之驥神父 (Fr. Galdinus Bardelli) 出任主任司鐸。1933年,由於教務興盛,區內教友近千人,原址不敷應用,慈幼會遂決定興建新聖堂。

1945年香港光復後,當時的主任司鐸韋助力神父 (Fr. Theodore Wieczorek) 親往美國勸捐,籌獲款項十餘萬元歸來,於是在全堂區教友鼎力支持下,動工興建新聖堂。新聖堂在1953年6月13日,主保聖安多尼的瞻禮日落成,並邀請白英奇主教祝聖後正式使用。

自1953年聖堂啟用後,聖堂因應發展需要,在各神長的支持及熱心教友的資助下,增加了許多設施及完成了多項的重修工程,配合開展各項的牧民工作。

本堂區附屬的小堂為設於利瑪竇宿舍內的上智之座小堂

聖堂資料
地址 香港薄扶林薄扶林道69號A
電話 2546-6221
傳真 2548-0661
電郵 [email protected]
網址 http://www.anthonychurch.org
建築風格
獎項
香港歷史建築評級 二級歷史建築(2009年)
附屬主堂 /小堂名稱 上智之座小堂
 
主任司鐸 梁熾才神父
助理司鐸 黃家輝神父; 劉戩雄神父(告解神師)
執事
主日彌撒 粵語:上午七時正、上午八時半、上午十時正、下午六時正
英語:十一時三十分
提前主日彌撒 粵語:星期六晚上八時正
平日彌撒 粵語:上午七時十分、上午七時四十五分、下午六時正
首瞻禮六彌撒:每月首星期五晚上八時 (晚上六時彌撒取消)
按此放大地圖